Broccoli + Cheeze quinoa pilaf because, protein.

Let’s not talk about how long it’s been since I’ve posted a recipe, or anything really, on this poor neglected blog. I’m 33 weeks pregnant and there’s a lot going on in the world, specifically mine. Trader Joe’s makes it all too convenient to whip up cheap, easy, vegan meals (um chickenless crispy tenders? yeah that’s like three nights a week. Kid loves em’). Not to mention, hubby and I LOVE TO EAT OUT 🙂 So it’s Indian, Mexican, Asian, Italian, anything but me in the kitchen. I’m trying to get back into healthier Vegans things before I’m completely exhausted again and not wanting to cook, which hopefully won’t be a good enough excuse for me…. I’ll want to fit back into pre-pregnancy clothes ASAP.

So my friend (and amazing Vegan chef) Michele, posted this on facebook, and I decided not to be lazy! Good for me. *Gold star*

Here’s the original link, but I’ll post the recipe as I followed it for you as well.

http://foodmatters.tv/content/cheezy-vegan-broccoli-quinoa-pilaf-recipe

final product
Delicious, fiberlicious, protein-packed, and chock-full of vitamin B-12

Gather:

2 cups fresh (or frozen) Broccoli *I had raw organic from Trader Joe’s*

1 cup white or red quinoa (or mix if you’re bad ass) *I had Trader Joe’s organic white*

2 cups water (to cook quinoa) *vegetable broth is indicated in original recipe, I didn’t have any*

1/3 cup toasted (or raw, but WHY??!) pine nuts *Trader Joe’s. where else!?*

cheeze sauce (see below)

Cheeze sauce!

1/2 cup nooch (nutritional yeast) *love Bob’s Red Mill, large flake. Cheap and easy to use*

1/4 almond milk *I used Pacific organic original- much thinner than other almond milks*

2 tablespoons Dijon mustard

2 tablespoons of EVOO

1 tablespoon with ACV (apple cider vinegar)

Dash of cayenne

Dash of Cumin

sea salt & pepper to taste

*Combine all ingredients and whisk until combined, and smooth.*

cheeze-pre mix
ready to whisk!

Process:

To cook the quinoa, combine the grains and your liquid of choice into a med sized pot. Bring to a boil, turn to low, and cook until liquid is absorbed, cover on. Should be about 20 mins. I didn’t have vegetable broth, so I used water, +some garlic olive oil and some italian spices for flavor, and it turned out quite nice. While the quinoa is cooking, prepare your cheeze sauce and set aside. Next, steam your broccoli until crisp-tender, and bright green (Mine was raw, steamed 5-8 minutes, frozen may be a bit longer). It will continue to cook when you add to hot quinoa and cheeze sauce, so don’t over do it! When it’s the brightest green it tastes the best, and has the best vitamin content.

While your broccoli is steaming, warm up cheeze sauce on the stove, until it bubbles slightly. If you have enough room on the stove, and can handle four pots, toast up those pine nuts too! I did all this when the quinoa was cooking. Otherwise, toast the pine nuts first and set aside, then start the quinoa, and broccoli after.

Get a big bowl and add your quinoa, which should still be steaming hot, and add your hot cheeze sauce.

quinoa+cheeze
yum

Add in your broccoli and pine nuts, and fold in gently.

quinoa+chz+broc
it’s almost ready! Look at those nuts. MMM.

Serve immediately, and eat a lot of it.

This cheeze sauce is tangy and cheezy. I was surprised at how good it was! I think the Dijon really kicked it up a notch. My semi-picky three year old liked it too. Usually she just wants noodle soup, edamame, and a carrot for dinner. 🙂 My husband will eat most anything, but he is also honest about stuff I make, and he really liked this too. Enjoy!

I will try and cook more, and be less lazy 😛

So….baby is due December 15th. Eventually, whether before then or after then, I’m going to finally be free of the hormones that have caused weird cravings, made me do and eat unnatural and unhealthy things, and have horrible aversions to things I used to love. I CANNOT WAIT TO HAVE MY VEGAN LIFE BACK, HOLY CRAP.

xo

Leave a Reply

