Taco Time

Have ten minutes, and an appetite? Good. Make this.

I picked up some Trader Joe’s crunchy taco shells (Vegan item alert!) and some limes, cilantro, and more black beans. We seem to run out of those items quite frequently! If you’re quick with the chop, squeeze, stir, and heat, + you’ve got mouths to feed, this is your lunch time go-to meal. I whipped this up for Mom and I before she left to go back home to NY.

I miss her crazy ass already! :o)

Image
Colorful and flavorful. YUMTASTIC!

Crunchy Black bean & Rice tacos

1 can unsalted organic diced tomatoes drained & rinsed

1 can organic black beans, drained & rinsed

1 cup cooked brown rice

1/2 cup well-rinsed (it can be gritty) chopped cilantro

juice of one lime

2 tbsp of trader joes Taco seasoning* (if you don’t have this, sub 2:1 ratio of chili powder:cumin, garlic powder:dried onion , salt:pepper, pinch of cayenne.)

salt & pepper to taste

guacamole* (see my quick recipe below if you don’t have this hanging around either)

Taco shells

Toss your beans and tomatoes into a bowl with the rice. Add in your seasonings + cilantro and lime juice. Stir well and taste. I zapped mine in the microwave for about 1 minute, just to warm it up. You could do it room temperature too. Yummy! Line Taco shell with guac and then your B&R mixture, plate, and manje.

Guac- I had some almost dead avocados, so I quickly mashed them up (2), and seasoned with garlic powder (few good shakes~ 1tsp), S&P, handful of chopped cilantro, juice of one lime, and 1/2 tsp cumin. Usually I add Jalapeno and onion, but I had neither of those items, plus I didn’t want them to be TOO spicy.

The combination of the spices in the guac and the B&R mixture was flavorful but still quite a kick in the mouth! Trader Joe’s Taco seasoning is a bit on the spicy side. I had about 2 tbsp left from a previous recipe and that was just enough for the B&R. I honestly didn’t even feel like I was missing out on dairy, with no cheese or sour cream. I never liked sour cream on my tacos before, and the cheese cravings lessen with each passing day. 🙂

I had two tacos, plus 1/2 of my kid’s taco, plus about 2/3 cup leftover of the B&R mixture. I’m finally full! Ok…. and I had a mini-soy creamy, ice cream sandwich too. Now I’m drinking coffee. Satiated for now! The first day post-run is always a tough day for me with eating. I hardly feel full! I guess my metabolism is amped up. Or I’m bored. I digress.

The avocados, black beans, and brown rice should provide enough protein to last me until post-nap toddler snack time. Until then…. it’s quite time for mommy. *ahhhhh*

Toodles!

Eat clean because seriously…. have you priced disease lately?! :p

Leave a comment